Poets logo

Hi, I'm Erica.

This is my life......

By Erica JordanPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Hi, I'm Erica.
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Hi I’m Erica

This is my life….

I have Tricuspid Atresia. I was born without my tricuspid valve, along with most of my right ventricle missing.

Crazy right?

This comes with a handful of chronic issues, most I’d rather avoid for another day. It’s a long list. I’ve got scars most people haven’t even seen. I feel like Sally from Nightmare before christmas. All stitched together to make a rag doll, a new doll.

I’m scared to even fall, all it does is burden me. What does it want from me? Some days; a lot of days, I cannot stand my body and its scars.

What I’ve been through surgically and with all my other medical traumas have been overwhelmingly intense.Some days it doesn’t even make sense.

Everything I do, I may have to get clarity.

Some days it feels like I’m a charity.

I don’t want that, I do not choose that.

Wearing my oxygen, I see the staring. The looks of doubt, the looks of curiosity.

Why do people care?

And truthfully, I don't have to share.

Yes, I’m “ too young to be that sick”

Yes.

Yes I am. I’m too young.

I pray to my gods, my angels, and guides.

Truthfully some days, I pray to not have this life.

But I can only choose me. I’ll push through every failed needle stick.

Walk by the staring with my cares in the clouds.

Every surgery; hospital stay, new medication, new doctors.

I’m tired

I may not have much time left, so that time will be spent how I want to.

How I need to.

-ej

Written by me 4/18/21, finished and published 6/24/23

slam poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalhow toheartbreakexcerptschildrens poetryart
1

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.