Poets logo

Heron

Spirit messenger

By Eustace ScrubbPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Heron
Photo by Bob Brewer on Unsplash

She loves the water

Her beauty it reflects

She soars with humility

I believe she is there to protect

//

She glides along

Like the leader of the sea

Ensnaring snakes and eels

She knows she is free

//

When I see her

I hope she comes bearing a message

I envy her wisdom

And the grace she expresses

//

I still carry tears in my heart

She knows they are there

Maybe from the sky

She can deliver my prayers

//

Or perhaps when we both touch the water

We lay some tears to rest

Yet I want them to fall from my eyes

Too long they have been repressed

//

God knows I will listen to her

For she is very gentle

This helps me speak to him

Her presence not coincidental

//

Today I was fortunate

An essence she did bring

I heard a glimpse of heaven

A place where despair does not reign

//

She also illustrated

How sadness and joy live together

How their voices are distinct

Yet neither one less clever

//

It is okay to fee sad one moment

And the next vibrant delight

With the Spirit we all exist together

A gift from the Divine

//

This love I have discovered

Makes my hair stand on end

It is unnerving and compelling

It is an enigma I cannot comprehend

//

I give thanks to the heron

She brings me back to earth

Solid ground beneath my feet

To which the Creator gave birth

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Eustace Scrubb

I'm just telling the truth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.