Poets logo

betrayal, deception

weave your little webs of duplicity

By Eustace ScrubbPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
betrayal, deception
Photo by Gaspar Uhas on Unsplash

Isn’t it ironic //That people can fake authenticity //It fills me with nonfictional rage //Rage that could send me to hell //I know my fickle heart //I shared it //Trusted you to treat it gently //You are the one who should be scared of the fiery lake// But you look around and point to others //Claiming they made your bed //But you picked out the sheets //Chose the color blue// Even though you were offered opportunity// I wanted you to be truly known //You wouldn’t let me// You still sang the soft melodies //Somewhere only we know// Are you feeling sad cause you did a bad thing?// Playing the part// A wolf in sheep’s clothing //Claiming to honor story and justice //When really you are a robber //A traitor telling my stories as your own// You preached your mythology// I didn’t know you were taking notes from the soldiers who hid //You stomped on our sacred soil like they took down Troy //I hope you enjoy your counterfeit sorrow //No one will come rescue you //Your home is built on sand //And there will be no one left to blame but you// You’re not my friend// It takes a coward //To stab between shoulder blades// To crouch away from the whites in our eyes// You think if it’s subtle //You can cling to your innocence //Your betrayal is my retribution// Because only you are denounced //Karma soothes my soul //While you tremble in its wind

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Eustace Scrubb

I'm just telling the truth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.