Poets logo

Here

But am I really?

By Christopher O'SullivanPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3

I’m here, but seem unseen

As though standing in another room

Lost in my own whirling thoughts

Anticipating some dark doom

Worrying about what I can’t stop

Fearing senseless rejection

Never stepping out of my self

Not knowing the right direction

I tell myself to open up

To take that leap and action

But still I stand so motionless

Just seeking more distraction

I wonder when I lost my voice

And turned instead to silence

And can I get it back again

Or is it lost to violence

I steel myself and take one step

Shuffle forward with one more

Each step granting sweet relief

As I come closer to that door

It opens with such gentle swing

A creak like songs that angels sing

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssad poetry
3

About the Creator

Christopher O'Sullivan

Poet, filmaker. Please feel free to check out my you tube channel https://youtube.com/@diofyproductions?si=eQKCpdk1asRf1G-g to see what sort of fun shorts i'm making.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Catherine Nyomenda3 months ago

    Here is a reminder that dark times don't last. Good poem

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    An intriguing look at the battle within ourselves to be heard or simply stay behind that closed door. Well wriiten!

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Very nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.