Poets logo

Her Tumultuous Mood

Legendary destruction

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 2 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She rode the harsh winds of her frenzied storm,

The torment speeding her along to her destination,

She was not worried by the strength of her gale,

After all it was from her emotional creation.

***

As she arrived in a torrid of devastation,

All who were near scattered in every direction,

Well aware she was a force to be reckoned with,

Her storm is one that we were wary of with circumspection.

***

The gale force winds preceded her,

And as she come into view,

Her tears swept across the scorching earth,

Drenching us with raindrops, hail and sleet, through and through.

***

Her anger slashed the surrounds as electricity flew,

Destroying those who dwell in her path,

Lightening strikes in time to her racing heart palpitations,

Those too slow became victims of her bloodbath.

***

I refused to succumb to her manipulation,

As I stood down her terrifying roar,

The sound likening to a freight train derailing,

Watching as she tore through the neighbourhood, fighting her own war.

***

You see I was not the one who did her such harm,

That her emotional pain became a force of nature,

Run little fool, hell has no such fury as this lady in disguise,

Your days are numbered, I’ll definitely wager.

***

Buildings are flicked into the sky, as if made of paper,

Roofs lifted for a quick gaze into the eye of her storm,

She’ll discover your cowardice, hidden in sewerage,

And once found, I’ll watch the devastation of which she’ll perform.

***

I understand her carnage, as she searches her surroundings,

Looking for that yellow belly and the rock you hide under,

Her stubbornness is legendary, so you are the walking dead,

Show some honour at the approach of her roaring thunder.

***

A little word of advice, you decrepit misfit,

I would suggest you wave your white flag while you have a chance,

She will whirl across the landscape with a tail of destruction,

And you will eventually be captured and there’ll be no mitigating circumstance.

***

I’ll watch your destruction in among her squall,

Learning from you the things never to do,

I’ll treat her with respect and my utmost courtesy,

Always erring on the side of caution, wary of her tumultuous mood.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

performance poetrynature poetry
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • D-Donohoeabout a year ago

    Great read Colleen!

  • This was sooooo empowering! Loved it so much!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic!!! Loving it💖❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.