Poets logo

Her

A free-verse poem

By Lola SensePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Olli Kilpi on Unsplash

She wrote me after a long time

After eons of me looking for her

To see how she was, to apologize

Only after I put a stop to my seeking

Her text landed on an autumn day like a dry leaf in my hair

Seeds of the past sprouted instantly

She didn’t prod, but I opened like a flower

Slowly over time

Two spheres in motion

My sadness seeping through the sprouts

Coloring the buds in blue and grey

It’s not that she discovered my secret —

I just had to let her know that

I’m both astonishing

And a worthless piece of shit

And that there’s just no way around the heaviness

I carry around

To the park

To the museum

To bed

. . .

“You’ve got the smarts to make it in most things”

Her words ached

Because in truth,

I lack the passion,

Perseverance,

A general resilience

And a light heart…

Gutless!

We communifaked

In synesthetic cowardice

Watering my sprouts with platitudes

And repressed tears

Before the inevitable harvest.

© Lola Sense 2021

. . .

Thank you for reading this very personal poem! This poem was initially published on Medium. If you like my work, I would very much appreciate a like, a share, a comment, a tip, or a coffee! 💜

More of my poems:

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lola Sense

Poet and writer of steamy stories. If my work tickles you the right way and you want to support me, feel free to buy me a coffee to keep the sexy stories coming!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.