Poets logo

HELPING AND HOPING

In my fridge and in my pantry

By Tammy WellsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
When Australia went into lock down, all of a sudden my thoughts started rhyming, so I wrote a poem ... and then I wrote another ... and another - this is poem # 2.

HELPING AND HOPING

In my fridge and in my pantry

Lots of wine always comes in handy

Boredom and snacking and watching the telly

Chips and chocolates, and bowls of jelly

Cooking and cleaning, I can’t do it yet

But I’ll do it soon – Get ready, Get set

Broken wrist healing, but taking it’s time

My patience is helped by one or two wines

Swollen and painful, my knuckles and hand

Not much movement yet – not what I planned

Soon I’ll be cooking and baking again

Hoping and hoping, that this lockdown ends

Shopping for groceries, is now, such a chore

Things that you want, are not there anymore !

Stocking up … on tinned foods … and long life

So, if things don’t get better, we won’t be in strife

Crossing my fingers for JobSeeker payments

Not getting them means … making other arrangements

Walking for exercise isn’t too bad

Writing a poem, stops my brain going mad

When my wrist improves to the point at which

I can take the dogs with me … that will be the switch !

Photographers, Coaches, Actors and Singers

Entertaining us all, while we go through the wringer

The best thing will be when I go back “on-set”

Commercials AND tv AND movies – YOU BET !!

And, I wanted to mention … my talented friends

Who continue performing, to help us all mend.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.