Poets logo

WAITING

It started for me, before we were told

By Tammy WellsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
When Australia went into lock down, all of a sudden my thoughts started rhyming, so I wrote a poem ... and then I wrote another ... and another - this is poem # 1.

WAITING

It started for me, before we were told

Covid19 had taken its hold

I broke my wrist !

Son of a b***h !

So, I had to stay home, day after day

While the world outside, went “cray-cray”

I watch the news, and it makes me cry

People being so mean, and I don’t know why

Sadder and sadder as each day goes by

Nurses and Doctors and Teachers and Cleaners,

Garbo’s and people in shops

Working so hard, so the world doesn’t stop

So many of us, are now out of work

Trying new things, so we don’t go berserk

Washing my hands, many times in a day

Is the very best thing, to keep germs away

No-one can visit

No-one can hug

Isolate ! Isolate ! – Bah Humbug !

Missing my family, missing my friends

Day after day … when will it end ?

Thank goodness for Facebook, and Insta, and Zoom

We are getting creative, from our living room

Now that I’ve ranted, and had a good spit

I think, I’ll go and lie down for a bit

I’m lucky, I’ve got lots of wonderful friends

And … I look forward to hugging them, when this all ends.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.