Poets logo

Help Me. Please Help Me.

A True Poem

By L. J. Knight Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Help Me. Please Help Me.
Photo by Carolina Heza on Unsplash

Help me. Please help me.

The words echo in my head. I can’t escape them.

Help me.

I can’t.

Please help me.

It’s too late.

Help me. Please help me.

I curl my fingers into my scalp, fisting my hair in my hands. I can’t get it out of my head.

I can hear them crying. I can hear them pleading. I can feel their pain. I can feel their fear. But I can do nothing.

Help me.

It’s already done.

Please help me.

I’m so sorry.

Help me. Please help me.

I reach out to them. I try to soothe them, but they’re wild cards, and they can’t be tamed. Their feelings wash over me and tear me apart from the inside, but there’s nothing I can do.

I clench my eyes shut and press my palms into my chest.

“I’m so sorry,” I whisper. “I’m so, so sorry.”

But they can’t hear me, and the words aren’t really for them.

They’re for me.

Help me. Please help me.

The voices in my head are mine. Their tears drip down my cheeks. Their pain burrows deep in my chest.

I am the one crying. I am the one screaming, the one pleading, the one breaking.

But I am split into a hundred pieces.

And I can feel them all trying to dig their way out of me.

I exhale through trembling lips.

Help me. Please help me.

I’m trying.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

L. J. Knight

I'm the girl who writes poetry in coffee shops, who walks the halls with a book under her nose, lost in her thoughts. I'm the girl with the quiet voice and the smart eyes, the one who dreams for the moon and hopes to land among stars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.