Poets logo

Heights

the hero dies in this one...or is already dead

By ShalsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Stop me. Before I build a wall around me -

crumbling, failing, I am

undone. unsaved. unraveled.

The chord hung virginal - untouched - a thousand unstrung violins crying for their soul's climactic salvation.

I am pavement under the black sky

Spinning wildly into a lustful kiss. Rabid and wanting, jolting awake the feeling of simultaneous redemption, ecstasy of a possibility unlived.

I am Jack's fucked up mentor. Leading dark into darker dark. I am searching -

The song, once so loud, playing fainter and fainter until the memory - unsung, untuned like the piano grazing your fingers - crumble beneath the weight of unburdened dreams.

Tell me the dust is not forever. Please, Maestro, I can't stand permanence -

I have no language to let you go. I have no language to remember how to say

Feel me. Hello. Feel me. Hello. Feel me. Goodbye.

I am unraveling faster than I know how to say

Goodbye.

Goodbye?

Where are you now? Where are you?

I am unraveled and undone.

Hello. Feel. Me.

A forest fire rages

untamed and undone...

I was walking home and thinking about a friend who passed away. With a jolt I realized his death anniversary is any day now, and it's already been a year. I am no closer to knowing how to say goodbye. Moreover his death put me on a strange path of breaking, unburdening, healing, love and light that I have no roadmap for and that I am still learning how to navigate. If this poem makes no sense - good. It doesn't make sense to me either, but neither does loss. And that's the point.

Opening line taken from a song that's gotten me through most of this year - "I Need a Forest Fire" by James Blake ft. Bon Iver.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shals

a quest in modern poetry | a challenge to find the right words

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.