Poets logo

God have mercy on the mariner

a poem

By ShalsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
God have mercy on the mariner
Photo by Philippe Mignot on Unsplash

White line, white line, white line marking the

passage of time –

and space. Going and coming, a black tar road under a

setting – no – rising sun.

Wrinkled eyes grow small,

and I protect her every part of her

as we go. No – as we come.

God have mercy on the confused souls.

Soft grass, a coiled black snake,

headlights illuminating oak guarding black tar

water. And a stereo – the only light of the dark inside

"where we say all the secrets we hide".

His hand on my back, marking the

passage of time –

and space. God have mercy on the ones we couldn’t save.

Fingers clasping my hands

pulling my arms overhead,

A leg hooked over mine and the power

of a ball shooting downfield.

Two pinkies raised, and we chuckle in the stands

until a gasp, a red card. Time moved too fast for -

a swell of pride. He reels in pain.

I missed if he was coming or going.

God have mercy on the fallen - and the ones who felled.

Short skirt, balmy heat, the smell of piss on

Bourbon Street. Streetlights illuminating the concrete

pavement and suddenly I must –

feet hitting pavement hard and fast,

surprised by my own speed.

A spilled curl, eyes as blue as the ocean

deep rotted wood slipping up my soft thigh before

a quick scan of blonde and brunette –

God have mercy on the lost.

Marley sits cross-legged in the hollowed-out trunk

And I don't need to scan an ocean for there is

a light chuckle, a dumb joke

I move next to him as we make our way up the hill.

I need the extra strength today to come. To go.

God have mercy on the tired souls.

God have mercy on us all.

This poem is inspired by a line from "All the Kings Men" by Robert Penn Warren. He discusses Highway 58, a road I know well. It reminded me of all the time I spent on a similar road, going and coming. This poem captures some of the thoughts that took up space in my life at that time. I also payed homage to one of my favorite songs during this period - "Shine" by Over It.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shals

a quest in modern poetry | a challenge to find the right words

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.