Poets logo

a love poem

in fourteen parts

By ShalsPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
a love poem
Photo by Fleur on Unsplash

And you, you are unforgettable.

But I guess you didn’t know –

I’m all in, I’m all in. All I need is roses.

Look back at it

I was just playing my part

and they don’t have an award for that.

I’m New Orleans – I’m not promised tomorrow.

I’ve been through it all

Sunny in the summer, rain wasn’t pouring down

Nothing’s left in the way, pain was all around.

X out the line, paradise, rose gold rain

None of us will ever be the same.

Too fast, never ask if life does not last

Still remember like yesterday – put it in slow motion –

smoke in your hair and it smells like mint

The way I breath you in

and days we save as souvenirs

It’s been real. It’s been too real.

I could put your heart together

You know it’s true. You’re at the top

only heaven’s right above it

The only thing I know – is love. And

what I have now won’t be here again.

I am with you forever, even if it ends.

I knew from a long time ago

If it’s real, it’s real forever

If I’m wrong, tell me that I’m right.

If I said it, I meant it. Now tell me

You love me, and –

promise not to change your mind.

This poem was inspired by a song. Although the lyrics were not overtly about love, I found the song terribly romantic. It inspired me to find other songs in the same genre which, though not necessarily about love, held beautiful words and imagery about longing. I created a playlist, selected about fourteen songs and chose my favorite lines from these songs. I then put together the lyrics, arranged, rearranged, and further rearranged the parts until I created a found poem that, to me, encapsulates the true vulnerability that comes with desire and love.

You can find the full playlist here on Spotify.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Shals

a quest in modern poetry | a challenge to find the right words

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Wow, the fact that you pulled out inspiration from so many songs to make this is sheer genius. I really felt this line "and they don’t have an award for that"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.