Poets logo

Heartstrings

When you know, you know...

By Stephanie Marley McMechanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Tugging, pulling, plucking, strumming

As a fine tuned guitar in perfect tune

Hanging on to every note, every nuance

Playing to your sensibility and sensitivity

Reaching for the right key to open the lock

You are the Stradivarius, tucked away, encased

In glass, a treasure to behold but out of reach

If only I could extend my hands to you

And hold the sight my eyes have coveted, longed for

The harmony of your heart and mine could blend

Perhaps the most beautiful things are most fragile

If I pried too hard, I'd break the mold

Then no one would see the masterpiece of you

And still I'd have no treasure to behold

There's a delicate balance I must tread

Between the careless heart and the wise head.

love poems

About the Creator

Stephanie Marley McMechan

I am a freelance writer and blogger who occasionally writes poetry in between ghostwriting content for brands. Former English teachers often become creative artists. I am one of them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Stephanie Marley McMechanWritten by Stephanie Marley McMechan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.