Poets logo

Heartstrings

Sometimes I Wonder

By Cathy holmesPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
34
Photo by Author

Sometimes I wonder

if I could climb the strings that tug at my heart.

I wonder if I could hear their whispers

as they pass through the trees,

on their journey to my soul.

If I tried listening,

really listening,

could my heartstrings bear some profound truth

like rays of light that shatter the darkness

with promises of eternal peace?

Or is it all just white noise?

If I tried looking,

really looking,

could I climb my heartstrings with the weight of all that I know,

and all that I don’t know?

Would I then find peace?

Or would I just fall

to pieces.

surreal poetrynature poetry
34

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Very beautiful. I love the way you play with peace/pieces at the end.

  • This is beautiful and I am shocked that I missed it, but now you have another read

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is so deep, the emotion jumps off the page. Well done.

  • DreamWeaver Tales10 months ago

    Great love it 💞

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Cathy, this is such a thought provoking and insightful poem for me! I love the idea of wanting to be more in tune with yourself but also relate to the fear of what that might mean. The idea that internal walls will have to come down for the sake of personal growth is both daunting and exciting! Or at least this is my interpretation of this, I could be far off though! Either way, this was beautifully written and gave me cause for self reflection! 😊

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    What an amazing thought. I am always amazed by your poetry. Truly beautiful and moving!!

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    Such a thoughtful piece and beautifully worded. Stunning word, my friend :)

  • C. Rommial Butler10 months ago

    It often happens, or at least I have found it as such in my own experience, that falling to pieces can be a prelude to peace. I feel like there's an oldschool country song in that: "Falling To Pieces Over You" or something. Lovely poem, and what an awesome shot of the sunbeams you got!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    This is gorgeous and so touching, my friend! I really love the play with "peace" and "pieces" at the end. 🥹❤️

  • Oof, that uncertainty hit me so hard! That's why I'm so afraid of taking a risk. Your poem resonated so deeply with me!

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    Beautiful. I am going to lay money on the former as a sure bet for you. Keep me posted. ❤

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    Gorgeous - the line about heartstrings tugged at my own! Beautiful work!

  • Great question. Becoming so intimately familiar with that which moves us from a distance, would it bring peace or become too much for us to bear? This may be the best thing I've read from you, Cathy, & as others will tell you, that's saying something. This is incredibly good--to the point it most definitely pulls on my heartstrings & I don't know whether climbing those strings would bring me peace or devastate me.

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Gorgeous work Cathy!

  • Misty Rae10 months ago

    Beautiful! You've outdone yourself on this one!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    What a fantastic photo to lead us into your poem. Looks like a really special moment. I love how you subvert the traditional trope of "pulling at heartstrings" and make it into the longing for edification. Lovely.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    An exquisite poem!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    You've outdone yourself with this one. I truly love the melancholy tone and the longing of the message. Well done.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Beautiful photo. You’ve expressed the most common of quandaries. For what it’s worth, I think it’s always worth tuning in, really listening, as frightening as it might be.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful, my friend!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Sheila L. Chingwa10 months ago

    I have pondered the same. Well written.

  • Wow🥹💖📝Emotionally written and with a Touch Of Beauty❗

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    In a word, beautiful! Well done, my friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.