Poets logo

Oh, Vacuum Dear Vacuum. You Suck.

An Ode to a beloved household tool

By Cathy holmesPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
50
photo by no-revisions on Unsplash

Oh, vacuum dear vacuum, please help me this day.

Glide ‘cross the carpet. These crumbs we will slay.

A simple wee task, we can get it done soon.

Together as partners, we’ll tidy these rooms.

*

Oh, vacuum dear vacuum, there’s company coming.

I flick on the “on” switch, and then you start humming.

Together we’ll slide cross the large living room,

Then move to the dining and then the bedroom.

*

Oh, vacuum dear vacuum, why must it be so?

That you cling to the carpet and refuse to let go.

My arms are exhausted. My shoulders they ache,

But I must clean this mess up. Please give me a break.

*

Oh, vacuum dear vacuum, you truly do suck.

And not in a good way, you miserable fuck.

When I push on your handle to do a quick chore,

You scream like a toddler and stick to the floor.

*

Oh, vacuum dear vacuum, your grip kindly loose.

Cuz, I feel like it’s uphill, I’m pushing a moose.

My once precious vacuum, you are such a pain.

I’m ‘bout to flip you over and rip out your brain.

humor
50

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (45)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    LOL! That "Not in a good way you..." line made my day. I swear my vacuum cleaner quit working right after the first use. 😂🤣😅

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Ms. Cathy - Your 'yarns' always string-up the wheels of my machine. Do you remember when they had (3) speed 'electric' brooms heavily advertised? Can't imagine WHY you would want to sweep-slowly. If you have a moment check out "This is DUDE" I think I'm becoming the V.M. Nag with the Youngins; not my intent. Jay

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is so fucking funny!

  • Bugsy Watts9 months ago

    This is quite possibly the best title ever

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Hearty congrats on your leaderboard placement Cathy! Well done and well deserved! 🎉🎉😁

  • Test9 months ago

    Hahaha, another hilarious Cathy Holmes creation. Love it! This is exactly why I have Vinnie the Vacuum/Moe the Mop, my conjoined robot twins.

  • An ode to team work makes the dream work!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    LOL it's just too powerful. Funny poem!

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Lmaooooo 🤣🤣. I might try singing to my vacuum next time before I rip out its brains

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    loved this ❤️

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    lol Why is it they stop working when company is coming 😊

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Too funny! Every line was good humoured with lots of fun rhymes! 👏😆

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    This is excellent and made me laugh out loud 🤣 Awesome poem!

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Haha, so relatable, loved this! I definitely have a love/hate relationship with vacuums. The rhyme with "suck" made me laugh, I knew it was coming 🤣❤️

  • Oh wow this took a dark turn lol. Great job Cathy!

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    Ahh, this is so funny! Love it, Cathy :D

  • You scream like a toddler and stick to the floor. Hahahahhahaha I loved that line!

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Oh Cathy, this is a hilarious read! My vacuum feels like pushing a moose too!

  • Dakotah Ferguson9 months ago

    this is really fun. nice work!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I can so relate to this poem! My vacuum cleaner seems to have a mind of its own, it especially likes to hit my feet. LOL! I enjoyed reading your piece.

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    LOL!! I know how much your vacuum has been 'sucking' lately!! This was exactly what I envisioned for this challenge. Wonderful work, my friend :)

  • Ruth Stewart9 months ago

    I guess we've all been there with these things! Brilliant as ever Cathy. 😊💙👍

  • Colleen Millsteed 9 months ago

    Hahaha I just adore your sense of humour. This gave me a good chuckle my friend ❤️❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Brilliant & funny! Awesome work!😁

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Haha this perfectly captures what it's like to have an annoying vacuum! Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.