Poets logo

Hearth of my Life; and Loss of a Friend:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Hearth of my Life; and Loss of a Friend:
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

To the friend ,

I lost along the way,

I am sorry for-

my anxiety and depression,

That put a wedge,

between us

It’s like a fire demon,

That eats away at you’re soul

If anxiety was a color,

Mine,

would be green

Envious of your ability to

not overthink

Pure ablution of our friendly relation

If my depression had a color,

Mine,

would be blue

Quiet so NOT

to disturb you...

The first thing ,

that comes to mind

With this combo

Is a peacock

WHICH SADLY reminds me of you

I can’t repair or undo-

The toxic turn,

OUR friendship took,

Not matter,

how much I wish too...

Pure ablution of our friendly relation

Just as the peacock,

displays its feathers

As a sign of affection

I,

put these words in a poem

hoping it reaches you...

Nowadays,

WHEN

this color combo crosses my mind;

The ONLY thought that follows,

Is-

the sports team Seattle Seahawks

I know it’s okay, to miss you,

believe me,

I do

I hope you find a man,

Whom respects and rattles his feathers

As he tears up, at the sight of

You’re train,

As the lace glides through rose petals

Even though the chances are slim of us ever speaking again...

You,

ALWAYS were the best,

supporting character

in the chapters, of my life

One day, I will re-read the lines,

I may,

turn up the corners;

that bookmark the pages, I last read

The part that saddens me most,

We won’t ,know how one another story ends...

Pure ablution of our friendly relation

There is no bacon to burn,

No need to hit a guy,

with a cast iron skillet

There is no binding contract of friendship,

Tying you to the hearth of my life

No power, over you

I am no floor, to tread on

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.