Poets logo

Heartbreak Poetry

The Devil in Love

By Susan Eileen Published 9 days ago 1 min read
Heartbreak Poetry
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I fell in love with the snakiest devil in town

A devil with eons of practice

In the various ways one

Can torture the heart

As always,

It starts with streets lined with gold

This surely will never grow old

The memories pile one upon another

Each one more perilessly romantic than the last

Until that fall from grace

That mask you wore as face

It fell so hard it sent shock waves

Through those memories made of gold

Those memories I still hold dear

Even though the silver tongued devil had

My heart at the time

When things took a turn for the worse,

The mind games, the twists, and turns

Happening to those memories,

And my heart,

oh my heart

My reality is now crumpled like a ball of paper

Like the ball of paper those love notes were on....

That demon had the rights to my heart

Each transgression was more painful than the last

My heart was is seventeen pieces on the floor

I have since swept them up and

Threw them out the door

That pain turned into power

Not just any power

But power of note!

Power to love myself like I never had before,

To kick all that pain out the door,

It took time, I do tell,

My heart frozen for months,

But now I can say,

I fought the devil

and I won

love poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Susan Eileen

If you like what you see here, please find me on Amazon. I have two published books under the name of Susan Eileen. I am currently working on a selection of short stories and poems. My two published books are related to sobriety.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalani9 days ago

    Sad poem that turned empowering. Love it.

Susan Eileen Written by Susan Eileen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.