Poets logo

Lovers like Baby Teeth

Love looks good from afar

By Susan Eileen Published 3 months ago 1 min read
Lovers like Baby Teeth
Photo by Rajesh Rajput on Unsplash

I lose lovers like baby teeth,

but you are a wisdom tooth even time won't heal.

Our memories are worth their weight in gold to me,

while they were worth less than a penny to you.

But now my heart is torn apart with pain..

While I was in love with you,

you were in love with yourself.

It quilted my face with tears.

Yes, I've lost lovers like baby teeth,

you're a wisdom tooth so sore,

it stopped my from tasting true love.

Your love only looked good from afar,

like a poison apple glistening in the sunlight.

Yes, I lose lovers like baby teeth,

but they're only a memory now.

You'll never be completely gone,

And that, perhaps, is the greatest injustice of all.

sad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Susan Eileen

If you like what you see here, please find me on Amazon. I have two published books under the name of Susan Eileen. I am currently working on a selection of short stories and poems. My two published books are related to sobriety.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Poison apple, wisdom tooth so sore - you have fabulous descriptions! Loved this poem.❤️

Susan Eileen Written by Susan Eileen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.