Poets logo

That Gleam in Your Eye

Don't Worry About Tomorrow

By Susan Eileen Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
That Gleam in Your Eye
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

From the moment met you,

That gleam in your eye,

I knew I would have you,

With no real good byes..

Although we twist and moan

When I think about you,

I came into your life

like a cyclone..

Two oddly matched people,

Sometimes bizarre from a distance,

But too beautiful up close,

Nobody really noticed

Just hold me tight,

Make it alright,

Make my troubles go away

Thank God it's still May,

Because you’re my December

I find myself dreaming,

Not about my rib cage split.

you pulled me out of my pit

I’ve become so bold

Another heartbreak won’t make

my life harder

I’ll just stare at the moon

we’re just to being up all night

Talking about weather and Poe

No one has to know

Just hold me tight

Make it alright,

Make my troubles go away

Thank God its' summer,

It’ll be one to remember

I hear people talking

You use them up and throw them away

I don’t know what’s different

But you take my breath away

You hear people talking,

I’m not so pristine,

But now that I’m clean

You don’t know what’s different

but you haven’t thrown me away

And when you don’t want me anymore

I will walk my fine ass

out of that door,

I do fantasize you’ll get sick of me soon

Scared of the pain…..

But you make me swoon..

From the moment I met you,

That gleam in your eye,

There is no final good bye,

Please just surrender…

Don’t worry about tomorrow

We're making memories

that last forever,

I'm so present

So bound to this moment

That this second in time

is my forever

I want YOU forever

The reality is that

Forever is a good thing

I’m in need of no sedation -

I’m in suspended animation

Forever is a good thing

Just hold me tight,

Make it alright,

I worry that this is our final good bye

Don’t you worry about tomorrow

I’m going to love like I’m going to lose you,

So I’ll hold you like this is our final good bye

From the moment I met you

That gleam in your eye

We’ll never say good bye

Don’t you worry about tomorrow…….

love poems

About the Creator

Susan Eileen

If you like what you see here, please find me on Amazon. I have two published books under the name of Susan Eileen. I am currently working on a selection of short stories and poems. My two published books are related to sobriety.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Susan Eileen Written by Susan Eileen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.