Poets logo

Heartache, Demons, and Nightmares

I Am Enough

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4
Heartache, Demons, and Nightmares
Photo by Amber Weir on Unsplash

I put my heart into us

I put my trust in you

And you ripped my heart out

Left this gaping hole in my chest

This dark place

This darkness is filled with my screams

My tears go unnoticed here

In between the demons whispers

And the dreams that turn into Nightmares

~

Panicking

I just want to wake up

I just want to feel safe

I want to feel loved

But instead, I’m losing sleep

I’m tossing and turning

Sweat breaking on my skin as I lose this battle

I just want someone to save me

~

I’m losing my mind

These years with you weren’t daisies and roses

Maybe that was the mask you put

You played the knight in shining armor

You played my heart

You played me until I lost myself.

~

Wake up.

Physically shaking.

There’s so much pain.

It’s so hard to breathe.

No one’s coming to save you

The whispers are crowding in

The demons scratching at the surface

I wear the scars of their talons on my chest

~

WAKE UP!!!

I’m screaming out

Hoping to drown out the demons

Hoping to stop these never-ending nightmares

Please, wake up, I cry.

~

Everything that you put me through

I’m begging Karma to give you a taste of your own medicine.

You took all of me,

And I nearly lost myself

I need to find peace

I reach down within myself.

My words become my weapon.

I’ll fight you until I can’t breathe

I’ll fight the pain you smothered me with

I’ll fight for the chance at a better life, more love, and to know myself again.

I’ll wake up from this Nightmare.

~

No more.

I am alive.

No more will I let your words poison me

You were the reason I learned to hate myself,

And today that’s going to change.

Today,

I AM ENOUGH

surreal poetrysad poetryFree Versefact or fiction
4

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Lindsey Altom2 months ago

    That is what POWER is right there! I felt that in my soul!

  • You are always enough. Karma won't let them of the hook. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Mellygan2 months ago

    So deep in the feelings of pain and fighting, I loved your poem!

  • Rowan Finley 2 months ago

    You are definitely enough, more than enough. I pray for your supernatural healing right now.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.