Poets logo

Heart Pounding? Not Really.

When Souls Collide

By Karli LawPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Heart Pounding? Not Really.
Photo by Tim Foster on Unsplash

My heart wasn't pounding for love

It was nerves

The butterflies weren't excited from True Love

It was 'crap I'm meeting a complete stranger'

Two weeks long distance, Tinder of all places

I had to meet you and you me

I saw you panicking in your car

I knew I had the edge up as I didn't feel the panic

I saw vulnerability and I knew you had to be mine

Your tough girl persona melted away as I hopped into your car with you

"Hey!" I say with a big smile on my face

"Hi," your inner shy girl eyes met my own

We smiled bigger than we ever had before

We talked, we touched, and we laughed this random Saturday afternoon

"I think I'm going to kiss you now," my confidence never wavered

"Ok," you said and smiled

By Mia Harvey on Unsplash

Your lips soft and your mouth minty (I'll never forget)

Peace, home, love, comfort, relaxation

I feel like I've met your lips before, so familiar

The butterflies were gone

The nerves faded

This is what love feels like

It's comfort and peace

Heart pounding and nerve wracking was not love for us

You calmed my soul

I've felt those lips before

In another life?

In another time?

You claimed my heart.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Karli Law

Jack of all trades, know-it-all, call me what you will I prefer to have a little knowledge on all things relatable...or not relatable. I like to call them my Eclectic Adventures! FYI: my music playlists look very much the same.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.