Poets logo

One Saturday Morning

Growing up in the 1990's

By Karli LawPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
One Saturday Morning
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

What is home?

The nose knows

Of weekend morning coffee wafting up the stairs

Mom making French toast all for me

My brother, "eggs with yellow in the middle"

Oh, I wish those walls could talk

The arguments of teenage siblings

Of laughing so hard at Friday night television

(Or Saturday morning cartoons)

The popcorn ceilings not too often seen these days

Staring up and creating faces out of the patterns

Let's not forget the terrible old dated linoleum

You can make patterns out of that too!

I go back to smells

Of parties of the 90's, cigarettes and Coors light

Drunken, loud adults mingled with laughing kids

This was the norm

This was our life

Oh if those walls could talk.

By danya on Unsplash

That is ancient history

My kids don't know that house

They do know the people though

Grandma and Grandpa now

Spit up on the carpets

And the merry-go-round of food in the middle of the table

"Grandma always has snacks"

The smells have matured as I have matured

The house no longer lingers of stale cigarette smoke

Of boozed up adults having a roarin' good time

Now it's food prep and picky eaters at the holidays

Mashed potatoes and gravy, turkey and ham

Let's not forget the coffee, I enjoy a cup of my own now

It's always the smells

The nose knows home better than anyone.

By Zach Reiner on Unsplash

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Karli Law

Jack of all trades, know-it-all, call me what you will I prefer to have a little knowledge on all things relatable...or not relatable. I like to call them my Eclectic Adventures! FYI: my music playlists look very much the same.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.