Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Healing

A return of sorts to Vocal and life

By Jordan Sky DanielsPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
8
Healing
Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

You haven't seen me for a minute

The truth is I needed healing

Let's run it back to the beginning

2019 I was diagnosed with bi-polar 2

Now all of my drama had a name

I wasn't insane

Problem

The therapist and psychologist weren't listening

Gave me meds that gave me side effects

that made me feel crazy

Here's the thing no one mentions the truth no one with a mental health issue is crazy

The chemicals in our brains are a lil off balance

We can be kind of a challenge

They kept talking about the dosage being right for someone of my age, height, and weight instead of listening to me when I'd say I'm sensitive to medication

They'd gaslight me so I believe them

Okay they're the experts

My mind went on a holiday

During this time I was taking advantage of by so-called family

I'm still not comfortable to say out loud what he did

Everyone made excuses

Drugs are an addiction

He didn't mean it

It almost happened to someone else she was saved her father wasn't well came home early

Their home turned to hell

Everyone turned toward me

Why didn't you say what kind of monster he was knowing his truth

I shouted, screamed

He's family

He wouldn't do that to you

That's when I learned the sad truth

No one believed me

It had nothing to do with family

My fat equalled undesired

But the darkness rooted inside of him needed power and control

Nothing to do with me, my body, or soul

Or he'd remember the word others kept clinging to: family

As if it means something anymore

Funny how everyone wanted to cut this person out when it wasn't me

Happy she's free of PTSD, trauma, and doesn't have to wonder if family is family or a coating to step over boundaries and cross blood red lines

2020-2022 pandemic allowed me to cut everyone loose

It wasn't until now that I felt the need to reemerge

May came I was hella drained life without meds had a effect too

Who knew I'd get so wrapped up in my head, stressed out, afraid of life, years passed by

I got diagnosed with a mild case of agoraphobia.



Nah I'm just an introvert

people drain me whenever I leave the house

New therapist said fear of going out is the reason you've got this new title

I'm not a person who does well with change

I changed too much in the last few years

Quit my ghostwriting job

Bam pandemic

We'll write ourselves

We've got time

The money I had saved

Stolen by the thief that robbed more than my peace

I tried to get back to life

I couldn't do it

Getting up was too hard

Eating was once again

the only thing I could control, ballooned and yo-yo'd back up after losing 60 pounds

Why must I do this merry go around

June is gone

I'm still in the same place

I'm going though it

July I managed to shower and clean up

Somehow 2022 ended without me noticing

Now we're here in another summer and it's 2023

This time I haven't promise myself anything

I'm lover of plans

I make a lot

They often fall apart

Because some times I go dark

I think I'll try just healing

I want you to know if you're anything like me

I see you

Let's not worry about how many days we can last

Let's just raise up to the task

Healing in our own pace and time

sad poetryCONTENT WARNING
8

About the Creator

Jordan Sky Daniels

90s kid

Flower child

I rise with the moon

My pen flows

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I'm sorry about what you've been through, this has to be so hard! ❤️ heal on your timeline

  • I didn't know you were agoraphobic too! I also don't do well with changes and I love making plans! We're a lot more similar than I thought. I hope you're doing better now!

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    I’m so sorry for all you’ve been through, Jordan! I absolutely love the honesty in this piece, it’s heartbreaking yet hopeful. I particularly love this line: “I think I'll try just healing” Thank you for sharing this with us! 💫💞🦋

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Sending big, big love. 💓 Thank you for writing and sharing this piece. 💓

  • Profound and Incredibly written piece ❤️😉📝❗

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is incredible writing - honest, raw, deep and real! I'm sorry you've been through all that! I'm glad you have kept going and love the hopeful end to your poem! instant subscription!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Sad, yet hopeful!!! Loving the last two lines!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    We got you Baby Girl/Glowing Woman/Righteous Daughter. I meant it when I said I'd missed you and I can feel your presence right now. You will come through this. Love your way.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.