Poets logo

headman

letters from your head

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Photo by Nathaniel Shuman on Unsplash

you dared disturb my peace

at one point in time

calling my usual grounds

rags, not worth a soul;

you gave me only your head

as your heart stayed

on the other side of the water

where your mum is battling cancer

and sentimental stepfather

gives you goosebumps like no other;

you called me smart

how did you manage to notice that?

when I barely uttered a word

listening to you talk to yourself

in a stream of surgical syllables

in our prostrate language ;

I do it to myself too

only when I’m alone, scared

when I have to adapt to dimmer light

copiously filling the past –

and that’s what I’m relying on now

my eternal castle that wants to survive

any storm comparable to you

protecting your own world

same as I do with mine;

what we gonna do now

with our separate little worlds?

cracked, never connected properly

and melted, painfully dispersed

down to the smallest particles

not worth anyone’s view

-

for M.

-

(2022 – 2023)

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Mescaline BrissetWritten by Mescaline Brisset

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.