Poets logo

He’s Not Really An Ogre

In fact he’s super cute

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 1 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

He stretches aesthetically on the shag pile rug,

Stretched out in all his glory,

I smile lovingly into his eyes,

Often pondering his full life story.

***

He slowly rises to his feet,

And sashays past me like I don’t exist,

I give a little grin, amused,

Who does he think he is, treating me like I’ve been dismissed.

***

I decide to follow him to see where he’s heading,

Only to find he has collapsed upon the bed,

Deciding it’s time for a lazy afternoon nap,

I’ll not wake him, knowing he’s inclined to bloodshed.

***

He’s truly adorable laying on my bed asleep,

So much so I want to join him,

Curl around his warmth,

But I won’t, as waking him will be grim.

***

I don’t mean to make him sound like an ogre,

He’s really not, in fact he’s truly super cute,

But he likes his sleep and hates being woken,

He needs his rest and relaxation, all the better to re-boot.

***

When he wakes on his own, his mood is delightful,

He comes alive and is so much fun,

Loving and caring,

With enough energy for a quick run.

***

Once he’s worn off the bulk of his restlessness,

He’ll come looking for some chow,

Rubbing up against me,

With his most adorable meow.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

love poems
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Sweet Peach! Lovely piece. Well done.

  • Awwww, this was so sweet! Made me smile the whole time I was reading it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.