Poets logo

Hazel Eyes

A fear of flight

By Erman BaradiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Hazel Eyes
Photo by William Bayreuther on Unsplash

This was a long time coming

Hours and minutes and some change

Making sense of what we're longing for

And there you were

Your voice on a call

I can tell there was something

Despite my fear of flight, it's worth coming for

Friday night is fleeting

Would you save the weekend just for me?

"We'll see about next week," she said

We were love drunk silly tryna get sober

Still hungover on my way home

If I ditch this flight, life won't be the same

The time to leave is getting closer

If I leave now we'll never know

Your hazel eyes asking me to stay

Three hours apart, yes it's hard

After midnight we're still on the line

Lost of sleep and track of time

And there you were

When can I hear your voice again?

I can tell there was something

But what are you running from

Thursday night is seeping into Friday sun

Do you have spare room just for me

"My heart is heavy but I'll leave a key"

I was love drunk silly tryna get sober

Still hungover on my my own

If I ditch this flight, life won't be the same

She said, "Give me some time,

I'm still reeling from the last guy

In a few months come out this way"

That was a long time coming

I've a fear of heights and I'm coming down

Keep my head out of the clouds for now

Stick to concrete and my own floors

Fear of flight is fear of love, I'm sure

But there's still something worth flying for

I'm love drunk silly sobering up

I got faith in us and I pray it's enough

Booking my ticket to catch you soon

The time to leave is getting closer

If we stop now we'll never know

Your hazel eyes asking me to plane

And my eyes say it too

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Erman Baradi

"To be human is a lesson you'll learn at the very end."

@ermanbaradi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.