Poets logo

Have you ever had a secret stranger?

No one knows but you and them>

By Lara NewtonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

On Saturday night, we were strangers at the same party,

Connected only by a friend of a friend's girlfriend.

We shared a glance and a smile.

I was intrigued by your funny stories.

You liked my band t-shirt.

We like the same music, but you don't look like the type.

I thought that would be the end until you messaged me last night.

Making witty jokes about our antics that night.

You compliment my curly hair.

I hide my blush like you can see it through my phone screen.

Returning with a rushed joke to defend against your affection,

You can probably see through my attempt.

Though I can't confirm your intentions

Every word you write has flirtatious connotations.

Maybe it's only because I want your voice to sound that way.

Across the room, we share the same glance and smile.

There's an intention in our eyes this time.

An unspoken invitation waiting for one of us to take it.

We are both keeping a secret between us no one else can see.

The little touches when you laugh at my puns.

Throwing mocking insults back and forth while we draw at beer pong,

Liquids of red and brown flowed in shots and mixed.

We get caught in moments.

I want you to kiss me.

You share my look.

You also share my lack of confidence to act.

It feels like an endless unknown.

On a Saturday night, we were strangers.

Now I blush at the mention of your names.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lara Newton

I'm an author of fantasy but here I'm writing slightly different fantasies. ;)

x

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.