Poets logo

Have I become a hugger?

When an embrace brings peace and comfort

By D-DonohoePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7
Have I become a hugger?
Photo by Josue Escoto on Unsplash

An embrace is an embrace.

Arms wrapped around me, bringing my chest to another’s.

Rarely getting hugs made me not know how to do them or react to them.

Dad and I shook hands, that was how we showed affection.

I thought I did not like or need hugs.

Then one day, my colleague, my friend literally became a brother in arms.

Standing there as we mourned the loss of another brother.

It was more than a handshake; it was more than a hand on my shoulder.

It brought comfort, closeness, peace.

Had I been missing out on hugs?

It was not sexual, but it was loving.

It was personal, and it helped.

Like a warm blanket around me, around my soul.

I no longer pulled away, instead I leaned in.

What was the power in these hugs?

The anticipation of this greeting made me smile.

We can share that embrace and share our burdens.

Lifting the weight from each other’s shoulders, and not needing to use words to express that we care.

Now when I greet those that I love, we hug.

Because now I know that I love hugs.

love poems
7

About the Creator

D-Donohoe

Amateur storyteller, LEGO fanatic, leader, ex-Detective and human. All sorts of stories: some funny, some sad, some a little risqué all of them told from the heart.

Thank you all for your support.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Aww, I love that you love hugs now :) This was sweet and beautifully written. I enjoyed it very much.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    this is great. love it.

  • This is so sweet 🖤

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 years ago

    Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.