Poets logo

Hard Crushin'

Sweet Distraction

By Misty RaePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
12

Dreamy good looks, devilish, or maybe divinely created,

I can't help but stare, to imagine myself wrapped in your arms,

Silky soft curls I long to touch,

Time stands still in your midst,

Rareest of treasures, I long to make you mine,

Anticipation rises as you step toward me, confident, so sure,

Closer and closer, I can't breathe.

Trembling, we're toe-to-toe, face-to-face, and suddenly,

Instinct takes over,

One body, one soul, two separate beings, perfectly joined,

Nearly 40 years later and you still distract me.

love poems
12

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Beautifully written ❤️💯😊

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Ms. Misty ~ Fellow Legal Eagle, Ret. I could so relate to your "Sweltering Heat" - while reading your "Hard Crushin'" - it SO reminds me of my "Am I Choosing UP?" Although the story is way out of my Comfort Zone Wheelhouse you've inspired me to write it - Thank you for that - Please take a moment to peek - You will so relate! 'J' Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Aww, this is beautiful. Well done.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    What a love story. That last line is just perfect!

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Ms. Misty ~ You always seem to "Distract" me with memories of my own ~ Thank you for That! ~ Lovely Presentation ~ Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Moe Radosevich11 months ago

    That’s how it works, nice one misty 😊

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Ahhh love!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Beautiful love story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.