Poets logo

Half Asleep

For the mind in twilight

By CorwynnaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Half Asleep
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

When the lights aren’t on in my brain, something hums

And looks out through a tiny little window

Taking in information from any source it can

Even ones it really shouldn’t know though

Overlaying numbers on the threats and on the scans

As if it knows what it is all about

Planning for a moment when the sun will flicker dead

Even if I’ll never see the light go out

I do not know the person who I am when I’m asleep

But it listens to my every waking day

Assembling the pieces it will use and it will keep

And the ones that it will coldly throw away

Its logic can’t be followed for it leaps across a gap

Far too wide for waking minds to earn

Plotting armageddon for a world that won’t exist

Survival in a fire that doesn’t burn

When the lights aren’t on in my brain, something hums

And turns and turns and turns and turns and fights

It doesn’t understand there’s a limit to its world

That soon enough I will turn on the lights

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.