Poets logo

More Than Looks

Home is where the heart is

By CorwynnaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
More Than Looks
Photo by Sebastian Banasiewcz on Unsplash

Imagery is not my forte

My vision's not the best

I might not quite dote on your brown eyes

Or serenade the rest

Your face is there to be a face

Your eyes are there to see

You are much more than how you look

Most certainly to me

Inside you there are canyons

That are rough beneath my hands

You've grown me better callouses

And here I learned to stand

Beneath a sky that watches for

That ones that try their worth

And reach for growth above them

And climb for better earth

Inside you there are waterfalls

Cold and fast and falling

The water leaps into my hands

I know the name it's calling

In my palms, the water stills

No ripples on the surface

The waterfall moves on beyond

But here, with me, it subsists

Inside you there are forests tall

That scratch against the sky

There's space for me between the trunks

I hear them laugh and cry

As wind rustles the leaves above

Driving to me their meaning

I know I'm safe here in your woods

The darkness will be fleeting

Inside you lies a world

That is entirely your own

Though I do not lay claim to it

Here you've offered me a home

love poems
1

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.