Poets logo

Haiku-graphy 1-5

Haiku + photography

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
16
Haiku-graphy 1-5
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

As you may know, I am a big fan of haiku. I have studied and written them for many years.

Many of my haiku are inspired by my own photography. I call that Haiku-graphy!

Haiku 1

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Timelessness

from clouds to this bench,

we see you.

©2019 Cendrine Marrouat

Haiku 2

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Past reflections

in sounds so beloved—

mountains in spring.

©2019 Cendrine Marrouat

I grew up listening to classical music. The piano is my favorite instrument...

Haiku 3

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

One by one,

obstacles overcome

with dangling legs.

©2019 Cendrine Marrouat

This is one of my favorite images in my collection.

A few years ago, there were millions of tent caterpillars in Winnipeg. My backyard had so many of them that it looked alive!

Spending an afternoon observing those insects taught me a lot about patience—and flexibility...

Haiku 4

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Summer reflection—

before ripples appear,

before flowers go.

©2019 Cendrine Marrouat

This is a photo from FortWhyte Alive, a lovely nature center in Winnipeg. Just outside the Reception Centre, there is a small man-made pond. When the weather is beautiful and the wind calm enough, you can catch some beautiful reflections...

Haiku 5

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Aspen trees:

irregular lines but

such harmony!

©2019 Cendrine Marrouat

I don't know about you, but I love walking in forests. I am lucky to live in a city that has many green spaces.

Assiniboine Forest, where I took the photo below, is one of the largest urban nature parks of its kind in Canada. It has several beautiful trails bordered by aspen and oak trees, as well as a boardwalk and pond. There is also a herd of herd of white-tailed deer, but I have never seen them in that area.

That's it for today! Thank you for reading.

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

nature poetryinspirational
16

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.9 months ago

    I love these posts of yours so much, Cendrine! I really love the pictures combined with the haiku 🤗 Just lovely!

  • Haiku 4 was my favorite though the pic from haiku 1 one was my favorite pic. Very well done CH

  • ❤️😊📝Incredible, and Keep up the good work!

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    Oh I love this idea! You should post it as a challenge too :) great haikus

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Beautiful absolutely beautiful!!! Love the photographs with your haiku poems!!! Loving this!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Pics and haikus are all wonderful. My fave is the caterpillar, outstanding.

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    Great haikus. But I especially loved the photographs!

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Both your Haikus and photographs are lovely ❤️. I especially love the Aspen trees picture and poem ❤️

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Really enjoyed hearing you speak these.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A very nice collection, Cendrine! As you know, I often look to my photographs for inspiration, too. Your haiku are beautiful.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    These haikus are great. And they are my fav too

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful photography and gorgeous haiku, Cendrine! I also love walking through the forest! Nature is one of my greatest sources of inspiration. Fantastic piece! 💫💞

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.