Poets logo

Haiku Book (series) Review: Lord of the Rings

What it says on the tin.

By Natasja RosePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
7
Haiku Book (series) Review: Lord of the Rings
Photo by Nikhil Prasad on Unsplash

The Fellowship of the Ring

Bilbo's birthday trick

Frodo must destroy the Ring

The Fellowship breaks.

*

The Two Towers

Rohan and Helm's Deep

Gollum/Smeagol's crisis

The Trees save themselves.

*

The Return of the King

Middle-Earth at war

Minas Morgol to Mt Doom

Devestation heals

*

The Hobbit

Dwarves need a burglar

Goblins, spiders and dragon

Five armies battle.

By Amandine BATAILLE on Unsplash

Am I aware of how very little this explains? Yes. Do I consider that my problem to fix? No.

In my defence, seventeen syllables is not a whole lot of room to convey the depth and meaning of one of the Grandfather of Fantasy's life's work.

I guess you'll just have to go and read the book (or watch the movies) for yourself...

Just avoid The Rings Of Power; they're nothing like the source material...

If you liked this story, leave a heart, a comment or a tip and share it around, and check out my other work on Medium and Amazon.

humorbook reviews
7

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah D9 months ago

    I liked this review,,,it was nice!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved this, Natasja!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I don't think your descriptions are too sparse. In my opinion, that's part of the fun of this challenge. Come to think of it, I don't read reviews of a book or movie until after I've read or watched it, because many of them give away too much. These books are among my favorites. Well done!

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Wow! An epic in a one-pager. Only a true fan could have distilled all to this!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Excellent Haiku poem 👍

  • Nicely done. Just one editorial note. The line, "Gollum/Smeagol's crisis" only has six syllables instead of seven.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.