Poets logo

Guilty

By: Brittany Schroeder

By Brittany SchroederPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Guilty
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

It all feels wrong

To smile

To laugh

Everything

I feel horrible

For finding joy in things

For making future plans

For making memories

The world feels empty

Without you in it

The air is too thick

To breathe on my own

You once told me

You wanted me to live

I'm trying

But it's hard

It was never supposed to be this way

You promised me

That you'd be okay

At least you're at peace now

People always tell me I'm strong

That I can get through this

But they fail to realize

That the guilt is eating me alive

It's not right

That you're not here

And I feel guilty

For living

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Schroeder

I love writing! Writing has helped me through some difficult times in my life, and I'm excited to share my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.