Poets logo

Guests in our own home

-Kiesha Solanki

By k slam poetry Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
going from a girl to a woman.

growing up i was always told my body was a temple so pure and to be kept cleaned. so i cleaned. so we clean the house we were forced to be born in. the house i was forced to love i was forced to keep alive. the house i felt so alien in that i could never call my body a home.

the first time i bled i knew i had to look after this sacred place. i trimmed the grass when i was ready and then i welcomed in my first guest. i was educated to be safe and have protection. i practiced and still practice my reaction like the millionaire actors for i have waited my whole life to feel life. this is the meaning of love so they say. as the guests come and go i come to the realisation no one is willing to stay.

this is not making love. this is being someone’s shelter at 4am when they are feeling lonely yet aroused.

this is not making love. this is feeding the starving until they are satisfied enough to say i am full. i never see them again.

everyone wants to look around my house. the house i did not build myself but looked after myself. i tried so hard to love it. i built it into something teenage boys could only dream of. i am constantly being told this house was made for one person for any more than that will make me worthless whilst the boys across the street threw constant house parties.

a guest must knock and wait until i welcome him in. i spread my doors wide open for him. until one day an uninvited guest paid me an unexpected visit. he never knocked. why should he? for i owed him for never responding to those cute remarks he made whilst i walked past him. he was filled with embarrassment. he broke my door down. physically. he didn’t wipe his shoes clean on the welcome mat. no. he left his dirty footprints all around my house that no amount of therapy sessions will ever give me enough strength to scrub myself clean. to erase all of the traces. all of the trauma. all of the memories. all of the flashbacks. the constant nightmares that haunt me every time i try to sleep in that very same bed.

why? why did this happen to me? maybe i wore too much makeup. maybe my clothes were too seductive. it is my fault. i mean how can i possibly blame a guest? it is my house but not my rules.

no matter how many times people try to convince me that not all guests are bad how am i ever supposed to trust again? when the next time it happens the guest was no longer a guest he had earned the key to unlock my house. he was a regular. but that never gave him the right to claim me. my house was not his to demand.

no means no. yes makes me a hoe.

-now we are all guests in our own home

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

k slam poetry

I write about what people do not want to talk about

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.