Poets logo

Growing Pains

A Poem on Family

By Kate WestphalPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I still see flashes of my childhood

In every pine-tree scented breeze;

Echoes of laughter

That perpetually haunt me.

We were once so connected,

A wide-eyed little girl

Sitting atop the broad shoulders

Of a jolly man who meant the world

To me, his first-born,

Innocent and naïve.

Thinking perfect was impenetrable,

Thinking he’d never leave.

We would hike the trails often,

Tasting white birch as we went.

Root beer-flavored slivers

Meant a day blissfully well spent.

But years turned your smile to creases

In eyes grown sunken in rage

And the father I once cherished

Tore my heart from my ribcage.

Our bond cannot be broken,

Family is forever it seems.

But our connection lies in tatters,

You are beyond recognition to me.

I love you,

I love you and I hate you.

I hurt for you always-

You’re my unhealing wound.

Mostly I just miss you

And the man you used to be

The good childhood memories

Are the most painful to me.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Kate Westphal

I was put on this Earth to write books and love cats.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kate WestphalWritten by Kate Westphal

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.