Poets logo

Grocery Store

Unanswered callings

By Christina BanksPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I go to the store to buy ice cream,

hoping to see you in the isle.

Sugar is my poison,

but maybe I should’ve checked the beer fridge

Because that’s your toxin.

I spend my days thinking that if I think about you showing up in my life long

enough then it might

actually happen

You know the saying, “I think therefore I am.”

I don’t believe that is true.

I believe “we are what we think,”

So maybe,

Just maybe,

if I day dream about seeing you in the grocery store it will happen.

But the real question is:

will even say hi?

I want to get high off your love one last time,

because weed doesn’t smoke the same without you.

I still get stuck in the motion of passing the bowl to you.

But you aren’t there anymore, so my lips will have to do

As I kiss the bowl goodnight from me and the moon.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.