Poets logo

Grief

A poem about grief after losing my grandmother

By Brandi LansdownePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

She lingered in the pain

Wishing there was another way

Wishing them back but knowing that

The piece of the puzzle will always be gone

Becoming addicted to something that isn’t even real

The whispers will always be in the walls

Remembering what is lost

Tears fall unto a grave

The day you died is the day I died

I died with you

A little piece of me is gone

For all eternity

A chapter of my life is gone where I can never get back

A sense of freedom is gained but out of pain

What is gained will never be worthy of the price

Getting addicted to losing time to work

I lost everything when you died

The words echo in my head

Your final words and mine

The last thing I ever said to you haunts me to this day

Losing my voice with every day

Feeling defeated losing my best friend

Losing all sense of feeling with no interest in everything that I loved

Wishing life would go back to normal

Noticing how fast time is going

Knowing one day it will happen to me

Where the living will grieve for me

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brandi Lansdowne

Podcast: blonde with a black streak

zazzle: hallowed Halloween

etsy: hallowed Halloween

twitch: thorin11233

instagram: gothie12

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.