Poets logo

Green

.

By Kat S. TobiasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

A mystery

Delight in all that grows and thrives

Souls connecting for a brief respite

Bile of envy

a layer of mold on food that overstayed its time

Something once good now poisonous - what you're better off without

Sunlight woven between the leaves

Wrinkled faces etched into the bark

Moss inviting for a short sleep

(no promise of letting you get up)

Primordial dread as the sky gets dark

Inside rustles, whispers of wind, I can hear a spell

"Welcome, but beware.

Are you lost yet? Who can tell?"

Words sharp with threat tempt me instead

To stay and let go of everything vile

And of the world that waits outside

But my own face, pink from air bites

Betrays what I wish to forgo and hide.

I don't belong, I am not them. This is not my home

The woods saved me, regrew a heart that once felt gone

But it still lives through blood that is red

My human nature in every cell cannot be denied

The only way I'll become green is when it is dead.

I wave goodbye to each its rich shade

To seek something buried deep inside

What I've needed - what is truly mine.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Kat S. Tobias

27, she/her

Welcome, anyone who stumbled across this page. Enjoy your stay :)

Writing has always been my preferred method of making sense of myself, the world, life in general. I share it so it can resonate with other people, hopefully.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lyddia Solomon2 years ago

    The consonance and assonance across the line-ending words! So euphonious!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.