Poets logo

Green Horizon

A poem on hope

By Josey PickeringPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Green Horizon
Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

I don’t know if there’s hope on the horizon.

My views been blocked my intrusive thoughts,

shooting up like massive skyscrapers.

I long for the salty ocean air,

the sun ducking down behind the ocean to slumber.

Is my hope hidden in the elusive green flash?

That glimmer of green light when the sun

peaks over the horizon to say hello or goodbye.

Is that where my hope lives?

The conditions aren’t always right,

I’m never looking at the right time.

I’m searching for a mirage of memories that remind me hope came through,

but they’re as evasive as that light.

Just because I cannot see it,

I must remind myself it can still exist.

That green flash on the horizon, holding my hope.

Free Verse
5

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    This was so wonderful! Loved your poem!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Yes, you must! There is always hope.

  • Jackie Teeple3 months ago

    Beautiful. Hold on tight to your hope

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.