Poets logo

Compulsions

An Inverse poem on OCD

By Josey PickeringPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
Compulsions
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

This endless cycle.

Pen click 56 times.

Did I get it right this time?

Someone could be hurt if I get it wrong.

That’s what these thoughts tell me.

I have to do it just this way.

You’ll never understand….

I can’t just resist my mind won’t let me.

I’m locked in place until I feel it’s just right.

Until my mind tells me I may gave a moments peace.

I battle with urges and images.

Flooding my brain like a tidal wave.

There are things I cannot say because it’s hard enough to think them.

OCD has me in a vice grip.

I’m smaller and smaller with each new compulsion.

I might shrink away completely someday.

Now read the poem back, final line to the start. OCD seems like a circle, a never ending loop of intrusive thoughts and compulsions. There is hope though, I’m seeing it for myself finally.

Mental Health

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Joshua Hess4 months ago

    I feel your words so deeply. Feels good to relate.

  • Alyssa Nicole4 months ago

    Great job with this poem! It is so relatable and true. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is so powerful, exact, and true. Thank you so much for sharing this, Josey. 💗

  • J4 months ago

    relatable in every way

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Excellent work and inverse Josey. Mine manifests differently.. can’t ever get it right though so I understand completely. This was very relatable..particularly this line “There are things I cannot say because it’s hard enough to think them.” ☺️👏 I’m sorry if this is your experience.

Josey PickeringWritten by Josey Pickering

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.