Poets logo

As if we've never met!

"what we are"

By Gloria PenelopePublished 25 days ago 1 min read
5
As if we've never met!
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

History—that's us, what we are.

There's nothing for us to discuss anymore.

Our breakup has taken place between us.

A long,

long time ago,

Being together here means nothing.

We both know how it ended.

I guess our feelings died naturally.

What hurts most is that we share a home.

Do you remember how close we used to be?

Look at us now.

We spend days without recognizing each other.

Can you at least tell me our fate?

We turned from lovers to siblings.

Our love

has nothing left in it.

just memories

of how we used to do things together.

What we had was special, yet it's gone.

I wish you all the best.

Best wishes are what I give to you.

You've moved on years ago.

But I was so dumb to realize

Now that I know,

Moving on,

is what I'll also do.

Someday, I will meet someone to fill the void.

To make me smile or laugh out loud.

Life will go on.

as if we've never met!

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

Every creative piece is just me telling a story. Enjoy my creative writing!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Sweileh 888a day ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more now

  • Another poem that hit me so hard! This was extremely relatable!

  • Sad and very touching. Take care. ❤️

  • A nice word play between happy and sad. Great effort Gloria!

  • Hi Gloria, Your words beautifully capture the deep sense of disconnection and loss between two people who once shared everything. The transformation from lovers to strangers is conveyed with heartfelt sincerity, and the hope for future healing is a touching conclusion. Your ability to evoke such complex emotions in a few lines is truly impressive. Keep writing and sharing your unique voice. Dr. Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.