Poets logo

Greatness

You cannot stop someone with a divine purpose

By savage writerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes we don’t sleep

cuz’ insomnia keeps us up

Little did you know

That’s really us becoming superhuman

Shuteye is where the downloads come in

Sometimes we be alone cuz’ we’re

not part of the matrix anymore

Little did you know

That’s us finding our true selves

When you’re riding solo

you can focus on you

Because whoever comes around

you brings their baggage with em’

I’m expressing myself

in every way imaginable

before the hiatus commences

Only then I could create my finest work

I went from urine-scented hallways

to breathtaking penthouse views

Poppin’ off in places I’ve

only seen on postcards

Dudes I grew up with

are jealous cuz’ complete

strangers show me respect they

don’t have any balls to

Can’t accept who I’ve become,

they still have the old

Khali in their minds

I’m all the way up here

while they’re all the way

down there in left field

You fools said I wouldn’t make it

But I did and making money also

Black sheep of both the

Raymond and Jackson families

That was for a reason, look

at how successful I’ve become

This didn’t come without chance

Lost my father when I was just a baby

Diagnosed with autism at seven

Incessantly harassed for all twelve years

dat’ I spent inside of the system

Been crossed up by females I felt for

Friends turned into snakes,

reared their heads

Constricted and bit me

I saw death, plague

Desperation, abuse

We don’t even own the block

Gentrification put us all out

Yet the water still filthy

Found out I had talent and

was clowned into oblivion

Look at me in 2020, the entire

Garden State is digging savage

So is your girlfriend, sorry homie

Ya’ll not together anymore

Kean’s most appreciate, ahem

Valuable

I became more than

wealthy, I ain’t gotta flex

Broke people do that

I am an example of how you can

become someone despite circumstance

I ain’t listening to them haters, naysayers

They don’t have anything to say

Oughta’ put a buttery sock in it

So I don’t have to hear any

more of that nonsense

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.