Poets logo

Greatest Fear

For Real Poetic's Challenge

By Rob AngeliPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
15

My greatest fear and deepest dread

Is of the sands of time;

That neglect and disuse

Can erode away information;

That a vast digital library

Is subject to major seizures--

That paper even

Has no ability to make words last

Unless it is copied

And recopied

Managing to multiply itself

From generation to generation.

My greatest fear

Is that humanity stops reading

Everthing except for sensational headlines.

Against this fear, is there an answer?

Against this fear,

At least here,

I know we are all working:

There will be many answers.

social commentary
15

About the Creator

Rob Angeli

sunt lacrimae rerum et mentem mortalia tangunt

There are tears of things, and mortal objects touch the mind.

-Virgil Aeneid I.462

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER9 months ago

    We are the keepers of awe for the power and magic of reading. I like to believe that the spirit of Word never dies, it simply reshapes. Your poem is touching and outstanding.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    I share this fear too, and I love how you express it. I hope us working against it here will make a difference. Some days it feels more hopeful…and that can be enough.

  • Dean F. Hardy10 months ago

    We share that fear

  • Excellent take on what I assume the challenge to be, fear is destroyer if we let us get the better of us

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Oh, yes! There's something to fear there, indeed! Very well written.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Oh wow. There's so much truth to this. Wonderful, important piece. Well done.

  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    "That a vast digital library is subject to major seizures" - these lines reminded me of the recent Z-library seizure by FBI. Of course, book pirating is a crime, but the one I could look past... Overall, I don't believe that humanity ever stops reading. It just gonna always be polarized in this respect.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    I guess we read enough for everybody here. I been neglecting actual books, reading so much here. I will read a book soon. a fear most interesting.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Well done.

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    Chilling! I always remember "My name is Ozymandias, king of kings: Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!" And yet, he is lost and all but forgotten. You capture the fear of time and fading beautifully

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    R, this is such a relatable fear! I'd never considered this before and now it haunts me a little. What if the world stopped reading? 🤔

  • Gerard DiLeo10 months ago

    Beware the Idiocracy!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Very unique fear! I enjoyed this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.