Poets logo

Gratitude

Is An Attitude

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2
Gratitude
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Gratitude is an attitude

I know that for sure

I will keep an attitude of gratitude

today

and hey

I can endure

just about anything better when it is positive all around

nothing ever pushes me to the ground

I hear my supporters giving me messages of hope

and not offering dope

I get phone calls and messages saying

that everything is good, I am slaying

this thing that feels like the end

I have to depend on others to send

the positive messages

when I am not positive, the sages

Felicia, Rose, and Mary

are samples of the very

three I hear on the line

and it is time

to hear more positive stuff

as it has been rough.

So, what will it be to shout out today

My children are healthy and doing okay on this day!!

That, the one thing I remember I was grateful for in my twenties

when first making this list.

Today there is just so much that can go down the list and here is the gist

Retirement, with just enough work to keep me busy

Family and friends that are loving and caring and dizzy

okay, not so much dizzy, but their may be a few

and even a few that are blue

which is okay as things happen and who would have known this was due

I have heard of it once before in all of my 67 years

and there have been tears

but back to cheers

for the gratitude I know I am feeling

there is so much positive stuff, I'm reeling

My hubby is a nut

but

I love him anyway

he teases, and laughs and thinks he is funny

that honey

is my huggable bunny

enough before I make someone sick

and they comment just ick

I don't want to be responsible for causing negativity

on this day of positivity

and food

good food, lots of food, to elevate even the sadest of mood

So please remember that gratitude is an attitude

And as I do, please try to keep that attitude of gratitude!!

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.