Poets logo

CT

Comuted Tomography - x-ray imaging procedure - narrow beam of x-rays aimed at a person and quickly rotated around the body

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
CT
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

CT

why me

why not me, you see

what is special about me gee

it is just meant to be

that feeling of having to pee

looking for cancer we

are, and it very well maybe

there at anytime

and what about this time

as it's treatable,

probably not curable

The big C

is not for me

or you, he or she

too many have died

in my life, I have not lied

too many is where it is at

and some time it starts with the cat

scan around my abs

then their are labs

I have had the labs

oh man

it is time for a CT scan

in 2012 I was diagnosed after chemo I was undiagnosed

I have been told large b

and small b teehee

who cares

some stares

I should be walking the stairs

I could, but have no energy

and too many allergy

my coughing starts

doesn't stop and there are farts

okay, silliness and feeling better

maybe now I can write a letter

telling my friend I will take her setter

an Irish setter will be just right

a companion for the old guy

when I am gone, it wouldn't be too bright

to get it for me when I am allergic, big sigh

there I go again thinking I will die

just because I am getting a CT

oh me!

Didn't I just see a fortune teller

that looked like old yeller

tell me that I would live a long life

a long life to him may be his wife

who is sixty eight

and me just sixty seven

I'll be going to heaven.

All of this over a CT scan

Oh man!

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.