Poets logo

Grandma's Cookies

Poem: The five senses of eating cookies and playing cards with my lovely grandma.

By Rilee AreyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Grandma's Cookies
Photo by Daniel Lopez on Unsplash

I could hear the timer going off as I walked through her side door,

The warmth and sweet smell of chocolate permeated towards me,

A comfort in the small things,

Standing over the oven was my grandma over seeing,

The cookies she placed there, knowing I was coming,

She always has told me a hot cookie is the best kind,

As she handed me a plate that was all mine,

The soft, melting chocolate crumbling in my mouth,

The taste of growing up with her, I can taste it even now,

I would sit down in grandpas big corner chair,

With a plate and a hand full of cards with my grandma right there,

I would break off another bite with my touch,

Feeling the moisture in the recipe, always made with love,

I would lick my fingers from the melted chocolate that remains,

She would hand me a napkin and tell me to pick the game,

We would sit there peacefully as she listened to my life,

Playing gin rummy and eating grandma's cookies always hit just right.

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirational
2

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️Beautiful💯😉📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.