Poets logo

Grandfather Clock

A Lyric Poem

By Joelle EšŸŒ™Published 10 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
Grandfather Clock
Photo by Matt Seymour on Unsplash

Tick, tock

Rewind the clock.

Iā€™m standing in my living room

Looking out the window

Waiting for the guestsā€“theyā€™re coming soon

Feeling the familiar pang

Of fear before they all arrive

I donā€™t feel comfortable in my own

Skin. I guess Iā€™ll just survive

ā€¢

Fast-forward

Maybe twenty years

Iā€™m crawling out from underneath

A darkness I couldnā€™t foresee

A long, slow night that cut my teeth

Now, up at dawn, my body strong

I feel a glint of something newā€“

My mind skips backward to that day

I clocked out for an hour or two

ā€¢

Thump. Thump. Off in my head.

Streamers. Laughter. Little kids

I should be young, and having fun

Instead, I feel outdone, undid

Older than my seven years

The day theyā€™re here to celebrateā€“

I donā€™t feel like a little kid.

This canā€™t be my real birthday date

ā€¢

But maybe Iā€™m not old at all.

Maybe it was never me

In the corner, young, forlorn, I spy

The clock face watching me

He sees who I have always been

And also who Iā€™ll one day be

Grandfather Clock has seen it all.

He understands the likes of me

ā€¢

The body is just like a clock.

Our tissue has a memory

It records what we forget

It takes its stock of all, you see:

Feelings that we couldnā€™t feel

Experiences cast out to sea

Until a new song comes alongā€“

A rhythm that can set us free

ā€¢

Tick, tock.

Reset the clock

Time stands still, and starts anew

Twenty-seven years have passed

Twenty since I was in that room

Prepare the streamers and the cake.

The guests will be arriving soon

Iā€™m finally free of all the fear

Iā€™ve held since I was in the womb

performance poetrysocial commentaryinspirational

About the Creator

Joelle EšŸŒ™

There is gold in every piece of your story āœØ

šŸ“ Find me on Medium

ā­ļø Shop the Starfish Project

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    This is even lovelier than the first few. Your words are such a joy to read. Keep zinging those great missiles we so love to read.

  • Ooooo, this was so deep and emotional! Very beautifully written as always!

  • Bugsy Watts10 months ago

    This one is deep, Joelle. Thank you for your vulnerability. Also side note that I find exciting, we're the same age! (although, I'll be 28 in a month)

  • Ohhh Joelle šŸ•ŠļøāœØā¤ļø You drew me in completely with this. Such a powerful and dark melancholy vibe to open with, and you raised it completely at the end! Another masterpiece šŸ•ŠļøāœØ

Joelle EšŸŒ™Written by Joelle EšŸŒ™

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.