Poets logo

Goodbye to You

By INH

By Steph SinclairPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Jonathan Meyer on Unsplash

Dear, You

I thought again of you and your betrayal

I was surprised this time though,

That instead of it bringing me pain,

I felt nothing and although

This numbness isn't something I strive for in life

This is a huge milestone for me

I feel as though my life can finally begin anew

And as though I can move on

And in my new life

I want to thank you

For showing me just how naïve I was

And still can be for I still trust too much

And for showing me that this is dangerous

Is what you’ve done for me and so I thank you

And I sit patiently for you to learn what I did for you

Because as I come to the realization that I can be okay

Without you, you are coming to a similar realization

That your life will be empty, cold, and grey without me

That you now have no one who trusts you

No point of light

No happiness

All left with you are aware of your deception

And you are going to regret the fact that you were numb to my trust

All while I rejoice in my own numbness to your darkness

So I say a final goodbye

To you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Steph Sinclair

A young poet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.