Poets logo

Goodbye Fear, hello Hope’

By Nana M. SingehebhuyePublished 2 years ago 1 min read

You creep upon me when I least expect you.

You poison my mind and drive me to places unknown.

To places deep and dark.

O Fear, why do you kill my hope, my joy, my future?

You leave me with unspoken dreams.

You kill my Spirit, and silence me Voice.

You take my Pen and write my Story.

You make my ambitions go to sleep.

O Fear, why do you overwhelm me and drown my dreams?

You suck the life out of my mortal body.

You drain my energy.

You choke my passions and hold my mind in captivity. Because of you my mind is enmity against me.

I am a prisoner of your bitterness.

An instrument of your cruelty.

Why should I continue to let you rule over me?

For so long I have drunk and danced to the rhythm of your bitter sound. Today I choose to break free from your shackles,

you will no longer cripple me.

You will no longer have power over me.

Goodbye Fear, hello Hope.

Silence has been broken.

My soul has returned.

O Hope, you have given me new life. You have given me purpose.

You are re writing my story.

Your elegant hand has written sweet words.

Your words are like a sweet perfume lingering in the air. They are like honey melting on my tongue.

They refresh, restore and replenish my soul.

You have rescued me from the pain inflicted by fear.

I have escaped like a bird from the snare of the fowler.

You have awakened my soul and elevated me to new places.

You have shined your light on me and kept darkness at bay.

Any Soul that drinks the nectar of your passion is lifted.

You have given a Voice to the voiceless.

I am resurrected and fully restored.

O Hope, you have given me Victory.

performance poetry

About the Creator

Nana M. Singehebhuye

I am a free-spirited Writer. I let my pen write its own story.

I allow my mind to express its most deep inner thoughts.

Passion and ambition flow within me like a river.

That’s what makes my writing special.

Writing is my SUPERPOWER.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Nana M. Singehebhuye (Author)2 years ago

    Fear and anxiety are the real killers of hope, ambitions, dreams and opportunities. When a person masters control over their feelings and emotions they become POWERFUL.

Nana M. SingehebhuyeWritten by Nana M. Singehebhuye

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.